Victorian Government Purchasing Board
Achieving Excellence in Government Procurement

VGPB Members

The Board consists of a chair and not less than six other members. Board members are selected based on their experience and expertise in procurement-related matters. They can be internal or external to government.

Board members can be contacted via the Department of Treasury and Finance:

VGPB Secretariat
Level 4, 1 Macarthur Street
VIC 3002, Australia
Ph: (+613) 9651 1699



Ms Brandi has over 25 years procurement experience in both the public and private sectors. Throughout her career, Ms Brandi has assumed many different operational management roles and delivered key procurement projects and initiatives in the goods and services, mining and construction industries. Some of these achievements include developing procurement supply chain strategies and risk management assurance processes. In addition, Ms Brandi was the first female in Australia to gain fellow status in the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply (FCIPS).



Mr Lyons has extensive experience in government procurement policy and has been a member of numerous public and private Boards. In addition, Mr Lyons has held many directorships and has gained expertise in the areas of industrial relations, financial services, public policy, governance and risk management, not-for-profit management and communications advocacy.


Leanne brings over 20 years of government procurement experience in the construction sector to the VGPB. During her twelve-year career with the Department of Health and Human Services, Leanne has been responsible for the long-term planning, development and implementation of the health capital program, including oversight of the largest public hospital developments in Victoria's history. She also has significant public transport experience, including the development of Southern Cross Station


Ms Thomas is an economics professional with a strong background in public policy and administration and academic research. Currently an independent public policy consultant, Ms Thomas has provided economic and public policy consultancy services across a number of organisations including Infrastructure Australia, DTF and the Essential Services Commission. Ms Thomas is also a member of the Independent Review Panel that oversees the allocation of gambling licences in Victoria.  In 2009, Ms Thomas was awarded the public service medal for services to public policy.


Mr Rooney has over 25 years of procurement experience in the public, private and consulting environments with demonstrated success derived through strong business management, financial management, strategic thinking, customer focus and people leadership skills. Mr Rooney is currently the Victorian Operations Manager for Metricon Homes having previously held several senior procurement management positions at Porter Davis Homes, CSR Sugar, Madison Cross Corporate Advisory and Coles Group.


Mr Straw is a former Deputy Secretary, Innovation and Technology/Industry and Trade at the Department of Business & Innovation. He has an extensive background in technology innovation, policy, planning and implementation with Victorian public sector agencies. Mr Straw is currently Chair of CenITex, Chair of the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resource's Investment Committee, Member of VicTrack Telecommunications Committee and Member of the Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority, ICT Committee. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2012.


Mr Yardley is a successful entrepreneur and business owner. Mr Yardley has strong governance skills and is an experienced board member. His career focus has been on innovation, ideas strategy, business and planning in the ICT industry in particular.

Share Content